You are here

Back to top

A Streetcar Named Murder (New Orleans Mystery, A #1) (Hardcover)

A Streetcar Named Murder (New Orleans Mystery, A #1) Cover Image
$28.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Blackmail in the Big Easy turns to cold-blooded murder in this debut cozy mystery perfect for fans of Jane K. Cleland.

When the mysterious letter arrives by courier, Valerie Cooper doesn’t know what to make of it. She’s become the beneficiary of her late husband’s estranged uncle’s will—a man she never knew—and inherited a majority partnership in the family’s company, New Orleans Fine Antiques. Valerie knows nothing about antiques, but she decides to learn the business and become an active partner. She’s also got her hands full fending off Collette, a woman who wants to sell the huge old house in the Irish Channel neighborhood Valerie and her husband painstakingly renovated.

Valerie isn’t interested in selling—but when her best friend Lauren, drags her to a costume party for the women’s Mardi Gras club, the Krewe of Athena, she stumbles over Collette’s body, a jeweled dagger sticking out of her chest. In a rush of panic, Valerie recognizes the dagger from her shop—and before she knows it, she’s become murder suspect number one.

Egged on by Lauren, she starts digging into Collette’s business dealings, and the deeper she digs, the dirtier it gets. Now all fingers are pointing at Valerie. In a desperate bid to clear her name, Valerie frantically tries to find who could have gotten hold of the dagger. But among a cadre of guests in full costume, it could be impossible to find the thief—and unmask the real killer.

About the Author


T. G. Herren is a long time resident of New Orleans, where every day is Anything Can Happen Day. Herren has also worked as a sports/fitness journalist, an editor, and spent far too many years working in the airline industry.

Praise For…


Praise for A Streetcar Named Murder:
“[A] lively series launch . . . Fans of Katherine Hall Page’s Faith Fairchild mysteries will want to check this out.”
Publishers Weekly

“Conscientious attention to the clues.”
Kirkus Reviews

“An entertaining cozy set in an atmospheric New Orleans.”
Library Journal

“This well-plotted debut cozy is nicely framed by the antique trade.”
Booklist

“[A] brisk pace . . . augmented by Herren’s affinity for wit and his skills at creating real, appealing characters.”
South Florida Sun Sentinel

“Delightful . . . a mystery that is complex and emotional and leads to a satisfying conclusion.”
Manhattan Book Review, 5-star review

“An original and fun read from first page to last.”
Midwest Book Review

“A nicely done whodunit . . . with visually descriptive narrative and engaging dialogue.”
—Dru Ann, Drus Book Musing

“A good start to this new series, set in New Orleans, with fun characters, and a good murder mystery.”
Red Carpet Crash

“A joyous journey.”
—David Rothenberg on WBAI/R

“[A] smart, engaging heroine, [and a] fascinating glimpse of life in New Orleans.”
—Donna Andrews, New York Times bestselling author of the Meg Lanslow series

“Driven by wry, observational narrative, A Streetcar Named Murder careens a colorful cast from crimes to clues to cliffhangers to a clever conclusion I never saw coming. Our resourceful heroine shares top billing with a vivid New Orleans, exquisitely captured by homegrown author T.G. Herren. Bravo!” 
—Wendy Corsi Staub, New York Times bestselling author

“A delicious southern gothic cozy told with heart and humor . . . Its sultry Big Easy setting, intriguing mystery, and cast of characters as colorful as a Mardi Gras float make it a must-read.”
—Ellen Byron, Agatha Award-winning author of the Cajun Country and Vintage Cookbook Mysteries

“Take a trip to New Orleans without leaving home in TG Herren’s A Streetcar Named Murder. When an insult from her PTA nemesis forces empty-nester Valerie Cooper to reconsider her life, she never expects change to come in the form of an antique shop inherited from an uncle she never knew her late husband had. That’s just the beginning of the family secrets in this delightful series debut that will leave you swinging your beads and planning your next Mardi Gras costume!”
—Leslie Budewitz, three-time Agatha Award-winning author of the Spice Shop and Food Lovers’ Village Mysteries

“As fun as a Mardi Gras parade . . . Witty, intriguing, and charming.”
—Sherry Harris, Agatha Award nominated author of the Sarah Winston Garage Sale and Chloe Jackson Sea Glass Saloon mysteries

“If mystery fans had a Mardi Gras krewe, they’d have stacks of T.G. Herren’s A Streetcar Named Murder to throw to lucky parade goers. You’ll feel as if you’re driving down New Orleans’s Magazine Street and St. Charles Avenue along with widow Valerie Cooper as she navigates a mystery of murky inheritances, simmering hate, and long-held secrets that lead to murder.”
—Leigh Perry, author of the Family Skeleton Series

Product Details
ISBN: 9781639101320
ISBN-10: 1639101322
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: December 6th, 2022
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: New Orleans Mystery, A