You are here

Back to top

In the Crypt with a Candlestick: A Mystery (Hardcover)

In the Crypt with a Candlestick: A Mystery Cover Image
$25.95
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A wonderfully comedic mystery full of sharp drama, sly wit—and a smidgeon of murder—in the vein P. G. Wodehouse, Julian Fellowes, and Agatha Christie.

Sir Ecgbert Tode of Tode Hall has survived to a grand old age—much to the despair of his younger wife, Emma. But at age ninety-three he has, at last, shuffled off the mortal coil.

Lady Emma Tode, thoroughly fed up with being a dutiful Lady of the Manor, wants to leave the country to spend her remaining years in Capri. Unfortunately her three tiresome children are either unwilling or unable (too mad, too lefty or too happy in Australia) to take on management of their large and important home, so the mantle passes to a distant relative and his glamorous wife.

Not long after the new owners take over, Lady Tode is found dead in the mausoleum. Accident? Or is there more going on behind the scenes of Tode Hall than an outsider would ever guess?

In the traditions of two great but very different British authors, Agatha Christie and P. G. Wodehouse, Waugh's hilarious and entirely original twist on the country house murder mystery comes complete with stiff upper lips, even stiffer drinks, and any stiffs that might embarrass the family getting smartly brushed under the carpet.

About the Author


Daisy Waugh is the author of several historical novels plus a few contemporary comic novels, but this is her first book to be published in America. She lives not far from the River Thames in southwest London. To find out more, visit her website at: daisywaugh.com.

Praise For…


Advance praise for In the Crypt with a Candlestick:

“I couldn't put it down.”
— Santa Montefiore, New York Times bestselling author

“Sublime.”
— Simon Brett, author of The Liar of Library and The Killing in the Café

“Deliciously entertaining.”
— Andrew Wilson, author of The Lying Tongue, A Talent for Murder, A Different Kind of Evil, and Death in a Desert Land

“Fans of P. G. Wodehouse and Agatha Christie should bag this madcap comedy whodunnit. Outrageous and over-the-top; a perfect antidote to all real-life craziness going on.”
— The Daily Mail

“It's sharp, funny and just the right amount of farcical—the best sort of murder mystery.”
— Tatler

“What a triumph! It gave me enormous pleasure to read, plus of course a few appropriate shudders. In the Crypt with a Candlestick lightens the darkness in a way that is both dark and light.”
— Antonia Fraser, New York Times bestselling author

“An irresistible champagne bubble of pleasure and laughter.”
— Rachel Johnson, author of Rake’s Progress and Notting Hell

“Fizzles, crackles and sparkles. An irresistible, high-camp crime caper—deliciously entertaining. A perfect antidote to wintry gloom.”
— The Literary Review

“Fizzles, crackles and sparkles.”
— Elizabeth Buchan, author of Revenge of the Middle Aged Women and Consider the Lily

“Waugh has skewered her targets brilliantly.”
— Imogen Edwards-Jones, author of The Witches of St. Petersburg and Hotel Babylon

Product Details
ISBN: 9781643138053
ISBN-10: 1643138057
Publisher: Pegasus Crime
Publication Date: October 5th, 2021
Pages: 288
Language: English